Houston Baptist University (1989), Biology
Graduate School
Univ of Tx Southwestern Med Ct (1996), Immunology

Research Interest

  • Cytokine gene regulation
  • Cytokine signaling
  • Host/pathogen interactions
  • Mechanisms of atopic diseases
  • T cell development


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

IgE cross-linking critically impairs human monocyte function by blocking phagocytosis.
Pyle DM, Yang VS, Gruchalla RS, Farrar JD, Gill MA J. Allergy Clin. Immunol. 2013 Feb 131 2 491-500.e5
Regulation of effector and memory T-cell functions by type I interferon.
Huber JP, Farrar JD Immunology 2011 Apr 132 4 466-74
Cutting edge: a T-bet-independent role for IFN-alpha/beta in regulating IL-2 secretion in human CD4+ central memory T cells.
Davis AM, Ramos HJ, Davis LS, Farrar JD J. Immunol. 2008 Dec 181 12 8204-8
Blockade of virus infection by human CD4+ T cells via a cytokine relay network.
Davis AM, Hagan KA, Matthews LA, Bajwa G, Gill MA, Gale M, Farrar JD J. Immunol. 2008 May 180 10 6923-32
Pre-assembly of STAT4 with the human IFN-alpha/beta receptor-2 subunit is mediated by the STAT4 N-domain.
Tyler DR, Persky ME, Matthews LA, Chan S, Farrar JD Mol. Immunol. 2007 Mar 44 8 1864-72
IL-12, but not IFN-alpha, promotes STAT4 activation and Th1 development in murine CD4+ T cells expressing a chimeric murine/human Stat2 gene.
Persky ME, Murphy KM, Farrar JD J. Immunol. 2005 Jan 174 1 294-301
Cancer dormancy. VII. A regulatory role for CD8+ T cells and IFN-gamma in establishing and maintaining the tumor-dormant state.
Farrar JD, Katz KH, Windsor J, Thrush G, Scheuermann RH, Uhr JW, Street NE J. Immunol. 1999 Mar 162 5 2842-9

Honors & Awards

  • Minority Mentor-Trainee Award
    American Association of Immunologists (2006)
  • Junior Faculty Travel Award
    American Association of Immunologists (2005)
  • Special Fellow Award
    The Leukemia Society of America (2001)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Academy of Allergy Asthma and Immunology (AAAAI) (2010)
  • American Association of Immunologists (2001)