Download Curriculum Vitae

Vincent (Vinnie) Tagliabracci is an Associate Professor in the Department of Molecular Biology at UT Southwestern Medical Center.  He received his B.S. in Chemistry and Biology from the University of Indianapolis and his Ph.D. in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology from Indiana University under the supervision of Dr. Peter Roach, where he made several important contributions to understanding how elevated levels of glycogen phosphate cause Lafora Disease, a deadly form of epilepsy.  In 2010, Vinnie joined the laboratory of Dr. Jack Dixon as a postdoctoral fellow at the University of California, San Diego in La Jolla, CA.  There, he discovered a novel family of “secreted” kinases that phosphorylate proteins destined for secretion from the cell.  As part of this work, he identified Fam20C as the bona fide "Golgi casein kinase", an enzyme that escaped identification for many years.  In 2015, he joined the faculty at UT Southwestern as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Molecular Biology.  Vinnie is the recipient of the Esther L. Kinsley dissertation award from Indiana University School of Medicine, a K99/R00 Pathway to Independence award from the National Institutes of Health, a Cancer Prevention Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT) recruitment of first-time, tenure-track faculty member award and is an Endowed Scholar in biomedical research. In 2021 he was named an investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI).


University of Indianapolis (2005), Chemistry
University of Indianapolis (2005), Biology
Graduate School
Indiana Univ Purdue Univ Sch M (2010), Molecular Biology
Graduate School
Indiana Univ Purdue Univ Sch M (2010), Biochemistry

Research Interest

  • Cancer Biology
  • Host-Pathogen Interactions
  • Kinases in the Secretory Pathway and Extracellular Space
  • Pseudokinases
  • Signal Transduction


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Honors & Awards

  • Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
  • W. M. Keck Foundation Medical Research Grant
  • Norman Hackerman Award in Chemical Research (The Welch Foundation)
  • NIH Director's New Innovator Award (DP2)
  • Searle Scholar
  • ASBMB Herb Tabor Junior Investigator Award
  • ASMB Junior Investigator Award
  • Cancer Prevention Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT) Scholar
  • UT Southwestern Endowed Scholar
  • K99/R00 Pathway to Independence Award
  • Esther L. Kinsley PhD Dissertation Award