Lauren Tardo, M.D. is an Instructor in the Neuroimmunology division of the Department of Neurology at UT Southwestern Medical Center. She completed medical school at the University of Mississippi School of Medicine and completed her adult neurology residency at UT Southwestern Medical Center where she  was one of the chief residents. Dr. Tardo remained at UT Southwestern after residency for fellowship in Neuroimmunology and Multiple Sclerosis. Dr. Tardo is board certified in neurology by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology

Dr. Tardo specializes in evaluating, diagnosing, and treating autoimmune neurological disorders such as multiple sclerosis, neuromyelitis optica and other rare neuroimmunological disorders

Dr. Tardo has research interests in multiple sclerosis and specifically in improving access to care for minority patient populations. She also plans to participate in therapeutic trials evaluating new treatments for multiple sclerosis. 



Medical School
University of Mississippi School of Medicine (2015)
UT Southwestern Medical Center (2019), Neurology
UT Southwestern Medical Center (2020), Multiple Sclerosis

Research Interest

  • Clinical Treatment Trials
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Multiple Sclerosis - Access to Care
  • Multiple Sclerosis - Minority patient populations


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Pediatric paraneoplastic neuromyelitis optica spectrum disorder associated with ovarian teratoma.
Tardo L, Wang C, Rajaram V, Greenberg BM, Mult Scler 2021 Aug 13524585211037582
Asymptomatic retinal vasculopathy in neuropsychiatric systemic lupus erythematosus.
Sguigna PV, Tardo L, Conger D, Hogan R, Greenberg BM, J Neurol Sci 2021 Aug 430 118053


Featured Books Legend Featured Books

Honors & Awards

  • Consultant of the Year Award
  • Neurology Clinic Resident of the Year
  • Stephen Damm Memorial Award
    For excellence and compassion in patient care in Neurology (2019)
  • Chief Resident
  • Gold Humanism Honor Society Inductee
  • Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Society, University of Mississippi Medical School
  • Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Neurobiology Award, University of Mississippi Medical School

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • American Academy of Neurology (2016)