RAYMOND L. FOWLER, M.D., FACEP, FAEMS, is Chief of the Division of Emergency Medical Services in the Department of Emergency Medicine, where he is Professor of Emergency Medicine and Emergency Medical Services and is the James M. Atkins Distinguished Professor of Emergency Medical Service.

Dr. Fowler has been involved in Emergency Medical Services (EMS) as a leading educator, author, medical director, and political advocate for over four decades, being widely-regarded as an outstanding lecturer and a public leader in the field of EMS. He served as President of the Georgia College of Emergency Physicians and as a perennial member (since 1980) of the State of Georgia EMS Advisory Council.  He was a founding member of the National Association of EMS Physicians, the physician subspecialty organization for EMS, where he served as the association's second elected President.  He was also co-founder and senior faculty member of the National EMS Medical Director's Course for 25 years and as a founding author and member the EMS Medicine Subspecialty Review Course.

In addition to his work in EMS, Dr. Fowler has been a practicing emergency physician for over 40 years, during which time he has also served as an emergency department medical director and manager. Today, he remains one of the most popular and respected emergency physicians of his generation and a legendary leader in medical education and clinical quality improvement efforts.

In October 2013 Dr. Fowler became the first physician at UT Southwestern to successfully challenge the new subspecialty boards in Emergency Medical Services Medicine, offered under the auspices of the American Board of Emergency Medicine.

Internet websites hosting Dr. Fowler's work include:


Medical School
Medical College of Georgia (1976)
Eugene Talmadge Memorial Hospital (1978), General Surgery

Research Interest

  • Acute Coronary Syndrome
  • Cardiac Arrest
  • Hemorrhagic Shock
  • Quality Assurance in EMS
  • Traumatic Brain Injury


Featured Publications LegendFeatured Publications

Emergency Care Regionalization
Fowler, Raymond L. Emergency Medical Services: Clinical Practice and Systems Oversight 2015 Volume 2, Chapter 12, 123-133
Emergency medical services as a strategy for improving ST-elevation myocardial infarction system treatment times.
Langabeer JR, Dellifraine J, Fowler R, Jollis JG, Stuart L, Segrest W, Griffin R, Koenig W, Moyer P, Henry TD J Emerg Med 2014 Mar 46 3 355-62
Benefits vs. Risks of Intraosseous Vascular Access: Commentary
Fowler R, Lippmann M Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality 2014 July/August
Developing an ST-elevation myocardial infarction system of care in Dallas County.
DelliFraine J, Langabeer J, Segrest W, Fowler R, King R, Moyer P, Henry TD, Koenig W, Warner J, Stuart L, Griffin R, Fathiamini S, Emert J, Roettig ML, Jollis J Am. Heart J. 2013 Jun 165 6 926-31
Endotracheal intubation versus supraglottic airway insertion in out-of-hospital cardiac arrest.
Wang HE, Szydlo D, Stouffer JA, Lin S, Carlson JN, Vaillancourt C, Sears G, Verbeek RP, Fowler R, Idris AH, Koenig K, Christenson J, Minokadeh A, Brandt J, Rea T Resuscitation 2012 Sep 83 9 1061-6
Early versus later rhythm analysis in patients with out-of-hospital cardiac arrest.
Stiell IG, Nichol G, Leroux BG, Rea TD, Ornato JP, Powell J, Christenson J, Callaway CW, Kudenchuk PJ, Aufderheide TP, Idris AH, Daya MR, Wang HE, Morrison LJ, Davis D, Andrusiek D, Stephens S, Cheskes S, Schmicker RH, Fowler R, Vaillancourt C, Hostler D, Zive D, Pirrallo RG, Vilke GM, Sopko G, Weisfeldt M N. Engl. J. Med. 2011 Sep 365 9 787-97
Emergency medical services transport decisions in posttraumatic circulatory arrest: are national practices congruent?
Brywczynski J, McKinney J, Pepe PE, Eckstein M, Myers JB, Fowler RL, Slovis CM J Trauma 2010 Nov 69 5 1154-9; discussion 1160
Debate: direct cath lab activation by paramedics.
Slovis CM, Fowler RL EMS Mag 2009 Jun 38 6 40
A descriptive analysis of Emergency Medical Service Systems participating in the Resuscitation Outcomes Consortium (ROC) network.
Davis DP, Garberson LA, Andrusiek DL, Hostler D, Daya M, Pirrallo R, Craig A, Stephens S, Larsen J, Drum AF, Fowler R Prehosp Emerg Care 2007 Oct-Dec 11 4 369-82
Alternate site surge capacity in times of public health disaster maintains trauma center and emergency department integrity: Hurricane Katrina.
Eastman AL, Rinnert KJ, Nemeth IR, Fowler RL, Minei JP J Trauma 2007 Aug 63 2 253-7

Honors & Awards

  • American College of Emergency Physicians Lifetime Achievement Award in Emergency Medical Services
    ACEP (2012)
  • National Top Ten EMS Innovator Award
    Journal of Emergency Medical Services and Physiocontrol (2010)
  • Keith Neely Award for Outstanding Service to the National Association of EMS Physicians
    National Association of EMS Physicians (2005)
  • Texas State EMS Medical Director of the Year
    Texas Department of State Health Services (2005)
  • John B. O'Neal Award for Georgia EMS Pioneer Award
    Georgia State EMS Services (2003)
  • Michael Copass Award for Outstanding Achievement in EMS
    U.S. Metropolitan EMS Medical Directors (2003)
  • Outstanding Service Award
    American Heart Association (1995)
  • Ronald D Stewart Award for Outstanding National Service to EMS
    Awarded by the National Association of EMS Physicians (1991)
  • Phi Beta Kappa
    University of Georgia (1973)
  • Phi Kappa Phi
    University of Georgia (1973)

Professional Associations/Affiliations

  • Dallas County Medical Society (2005)
  • Texas College of Emergency Physicians (2001)
  • National Association of EMS Physicians (1984)
  • State of Georgia EMS Medical Directors Council (1981)
  • American College of Emergency Physicians (1980)
  • Georgia College of Emergency Physicians (1980)